University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut



Peng Zhang
Francis L. Castleman Associate Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dr. Zhang’s departmental page
Dr. Zhang’s profile at Eversource Energy Center
Peng Zhang received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada, under supervision of Professor Hermann Dommel and Professor Jose R. Martí. He is the Castleman Professor in Engineering Innovation, and Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Connecticut, Storrs, USA. He was a System Planning Engineer at BC Hydro and Power Authority, Vancouver. His research interests include microgrids, power system stability and control, cyber security, and smart ocean systems. Dr. Zhang is a Registered Professional Engineer in BC, Canada, and an individual member of CIGRÉ. He is an Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Power Systems and the IEEE Power Engineering Letters, and an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics.

Ph.D. Students

Yan Li. Topic: Formal Analysis for Networked Microgrids and Large Interconnected Grids
B.Sc. Tianjin University; M.Sc. Tianjin University
Zefan Tang. Topic: Cyber Physical Security for Electric Power Network
B.Sc. Zhejiang University; M.Sc. UMich-Shanghai Jiaotong University Joint Institute
Jason Philhower. Topic: Resilient Microgrids
B.Sc. University of Hartford; M.Sc. Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Wenfeng Wan. Topic: Software-Defined Electric Distribution Network
B.Sc. Xi’an Jiaotong University; M.Sc. Xi’an Jiaotong University
Lizhi Wang.
B.Sc. Zhejiang University; M.Sc. Zhejiang University
Saman Dadjo Tavakoli. Topic: DC Microgrids
B.Sc. Shahrood University of Technology; M.Sc. Shahid Beheshti University
Altan Unlu. Topic: Microgrids and Smart Distribution
B.Sc. University of Gaziantep; M.Sc. George Washington University
Jiangwei Wang.
B.Sc. Xi’an Jiaotong University
Abdullah Alzahrani.
B.Sc. Northern Border University; M.Sc. Rochester Institute of Technology

M.Sc. (Plan A) Student

Heqiang Wang Topic: Smart Inverter Stability 
B.Sc. University of Kentucky
Kunihiro Muto Topic: Protection of Smart Distribution and Microgrids  
B.Sc. University of Connecticut

Senior design Teams 2017-2018

Commercial Solar Works – Wastewater Treatment Plant Microgrid (joint with ENVE)
Kelly Higinbotham
Wyatt VanFossan
Christopher Angi
Emma Hughes
Sara Nelson
Kim Quach
Jordan Krueger
Underwater Wireless Power and Data Transfer Via Common Inductive Coupled Coils
Jeffrey Santi
Alex Slossberg (Independent Design Lab)
Leyang Shen
Ruochen Xie
Utility Grid Enhancement for Deep Integration of Distributed Photovoltaic Power Generation
Marissa Simonelli
Martial Sawasawa
Christopher Gutierrez


Lingyu Ren, Ph.D. Senior Engineer, United Technologies Research Center (UTRC)
Taofeek Orekan, Ph.D.
Sherwin Li, M.Sc., Senior Engineer, The Boeing Company
Hua Ye, Visiting Professor, Professor at Shandong University
Gengfeng Li,Visiting PhD, Associate Professor, Xi’an Jiaotong University
Yang Wang, Postdoc, Economic Transmission Planning Engineer, NiSource
Samuel J. Hake, Honors student, Engineer, Burns& McDonnel
Kelin Victoria Zúñiga Meneses, Visiting PhD, Universidad de La Laguana, Spain
Shu Wan, REU student and RA, Engineer, ISO-NE
Kendall Pitts, REU Student, Software Engineer, Northrop Grumman Corporation
Zhibing Zhao, M.Sc., RA, RPI
Haodong Hu, M.Sc., Engineer, Panasonic
Joe Boruch, M.Sc., Engineer, Pratt & Whitney
Hui Xue, Visiting Professor, Professor, China Agricultural University
Jian Zhang, Visiting PhD, Engineer, Electric Power Planning & Engineering Institute
Jingjing Lu, Visiting PhD, RA, NCEPU
Derek McCormack
Alsandy Jacot
Joel Velez
Rahul Vachhani
Christine Ross
Nicholas White
Islam Bilalovski
Jeffrey Brennan
Peter McBride
Christopher Stella
Kyle Buckley
Frank Ludorf
Alex Slossberg
Justin Walters

Jingjing, Jian, Taofeek and Lingyu Jingjing, Jian, Taofeek and Lingyu
group photo Lingyu named GE Fellow.
IMG_3116 UConn’s first grid-tied PV system built by Dr. Zhang’s group.
UConn ECE Department. UConn ECE Department.